bemep2xcyaaqrv0-jpg_large

Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag Is Official

Ubisoft have announced the next entry in the Assassin’s Creed franchise: Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag. This comes after leaks throughout the week detailing information about the game.

The news came today when the publisher released a statement saying: “We confirm that Ubisoft will announce all the details of Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag on Monday March 4th at 5pm GMT.”

Earlier today, box art of the game was leaked but Ubisoft officially released it along with their statement. The art shows the new protagonist (according to Examiner, he is called Edward Kenway, father of Haytham Kenway from Assassin’s Creed 3) standing over a dead body holding a gun and a sword. From the looks of things, he also has three other guns on his body, a bit excessive? Take a look:

The game was also confirmed as being in production for Xbox 360, Wii U, PC and PS3. The PS3 version will ship with “60 minutes of exclusive gameplay,” Ubisoft revealed. There is no word on production for next generation consoles. Will next-gen be left out of the new Assassin’s Creed till a larger audience have purchased the consoles?

This week the game was leaked by various sources showing the poster with art from the game plus a map of the locations available in the game. This confirmed a pirate theme for the game and may have forced Ubi’s hand on a rushed reveal of the game.

In addition, VGLeaks has reported that 2 Assassin’s Creed games will be released this year. However the second will not be on consoles. The website says to “Bet for a Vita one in 2013.” A sequel to the initial Vita game Liberation? Both could be revealed on March the 4th at 5PM GMT/9AM PST/12 PM EST.

What do you think of the new setting that Assassin’s Creed has taken?



[fbcomments]